CSS logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CSS Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows

TL;DR
  • No public pass rate for Certified Security Salesperson was verified; any specific percentage you see online is unsourced.
  • CSS is a course-and-assessment pathway through ESA's National Training School, not one combined exam.
  • The published proctored passing score is 70, but its scale is not specified.
  • You get no more than three exam attempts, and re-examination costs $135.

What "Pass Rate" Even Means for This Credential

Searching for a Certified Security Salesperson pass rate usually turns up one of two things: a confident-sounding number with no source, or numbers belonging to an entirely different credential that happens to share the "CSS" acronym. Neither helps you. This article takes a different approach: it lays out what the Electronic Security Association (ESA) and its National Training School actually publish, explains why a single headline pass rate is hard to define for this credential, and shows you how to prepare so that the question matters less.

If you are new to the credential itself, start with What Is CSS Certification? for the basics. The short version: Certified Security Salesperson is an ESA credential aimed at people who sell electronic security systems, and it is earned through coursework plus proctored assessments rather than a single sitting.

Bottom line up front: A verified, public pass rate for the CSS pathway was not found. Rather than guess, this guide focuses on the mechanics that actually drive outcomes: how many attempts you get, what the exam looks like, how long you have, and which content areas deserve your hours.

What ESA Publishes and What It Doesn't

A responsible pass-rate analysis starts by separating what is documented from what is not. Here is the honest inventory.

Data PointStatus
Public CSS pass rateNot verified; no published figure found
General proctored passing scorePublished as 70, scale unspecified
SSE exam question count (total, scored, unscored)Not verified
SSE exam length (virtual/live delivery)Two hours per the 2026 catalog
Attempt limitNo more than three attempts
Re-examination fee$135 per ESA's FAQ
Domain weighting percentagesNot published; catalog headings are unweighted
Adaptive testingUnverified

Notice what is missing: ESA does not appear to publish cohort statistics. That means the most useful thing you can do is understand the structure of the assessment and the rules around retakes, then prepare to clear the bar the first time. Our companion piece on the CSS passing score goes deeper on the 70 figure and why you should not convert it into a question count.

How the Credential Is Built: Courses, Not One Exam

This is the single most important structural fact for interpreting any pass-rate discussion. CSS is not a stand-alone test you sit for after self-study. It is a pathway:

  1. Complete a prerequisite foundation: either CAT Level 1 or Understanding Electronic Security Systems (UESS).
  2. Complete Security Sales Essentials (SSE).
  3. Pass the required proctored examinations.
  4. Submit the New Certification Request Form.

ESA's policies require the qualifying coursework to fall within the preceding five years, and existing CAT Level I holders may complete SSE alone. Because the pathway has multiple course-and-exam components, "the CSS pass rate" could mean the UESS assessment, the CAT Level 1 exam, the SSE exam, or some blend. Without a published definition, any single number is meaningless. For the full eligibility picture, see CSS Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Two Routes, Two Time Commitments

RouteTraining Hours (excluding exams)Online Bundle Price (Member / Nonmember)
UESS + SSE21 hours (7 + 14)$396.90 / $630
CAT Level 1 + SSE36 hours (22 + 14)$497.70 / $790

These are package prices for the course-and-exam bundle, not a verified standalone exam fee. SSE alone runs $245 for members and $350 for nonmembers. Printed manuals are extra. A full cost walk-through lives in CSS Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

The Proctored Exam: Format, Timing, and Score

What we can say about the SSE proctored exam is limited but useful:

  • Question style: multiple choice.
  • Resource policy: open book, using the course manual.
  • Time: the 2026 catalog specifies two hours for virtual/live delivery, which follows seven or fourteen training hours. The self-paced online SSE page lists fourteen training hours but no separate exam timer.
  • Passing score: published as 70 for ESA proctored exams generally, with the scale unspecified.
Don't confuse two different 70s: The SSE product page mentions "70% or greater" in connection with the separate course-completion quiz. That is not a verified proctored-exam percentage. Treat the proctored 70 as a score whose scale ESA has not spelled out.

Open-book does not mean easy. When the manual is available, the test tends to reward people who can locate and apply the right section quickly instead of those who memorize. A candidate who has never opened the manual's index until exam day is at a real disadvantage. If you want a calibrated sense of difficulty, read How Hard Is the CSS Exam?.

The Proctoring Provider Question

Candidates often ask which proctoring platform they will face, and the public record is inconsistent. ESA's FAQ names Honorlock with 24/7 access through the learner portal. A still-live proctored-exams page names ProctorU and physical PSI sites. ESA's September 30, 2024 announcement planned a move of online testing to AI-assisted proctoring by the end of 2024 but did not name the platform or confirm the exact cutover for SSE.

The practical takeaway: follow the provider and instructions assigned inside your own learner account. Do not assume rules from one platform apply to another. For example, the physical-site page says a printed manual is required and e-books are prohibited, but that should not be carried over to Honorlock. Web testing requires a webcam and microphone. Calculator, tab, break, and other resource rules for the current online format are not verified, so confirm them before test day rather than relying on forum posts. Scheduling details are covered in CSS Exam Dates: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Attempt Limits, Windows, and Re-Exam Costs

If there is a "pass rate" lever you can actually control, it is understanding the retake structure. ESA's rules are specific:

  • Online coursework has a twelve-month completion window.
  • Fundamental-course exams must be passed within six months after course completion.
  • You are allowed no more than three attempts.
  • After a third failure, or if the examination window expires, you must retake the course.
  • Re-examination costs $135.

Key Takeaway

Because a third failure sends you back through the whole course, your first attempt is your most valuable. Budget your prep as if you will not get a comfortable second pass, and confirm your six-month exam window the day you finish the course.

That structure also explains why aggregate pass-rate figures would be hard to interpret even if ESA published them: a first-attempt rate, an eventual-pass rate, and a course-completion rate would all tell different stories.

Content Areas Where Candidates Win or Lose Points

ESA's 2026 catalog lists twelve subject areas for the virtual and live SSE preparation curriculum. These are unweighted preparation headings, not an official exam blueprint, and they do not establish exhaustive coverage of the prerequisite exams or the percentage weight of any area. Treat them as a map of what the course teaches. A longer treatment is available in CSS Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 12 Content Areas.

The Sales-Process Core (Domains 1-6)

Security Sales Cycle, Prospecting, Approach, Identifying Needs, Presenting the Solution, and Closing form the sales-process backbone.

  • Know the order of the cycle and what belongs at each stage.
  • Be able to distinguish prospecting activities from approach activities.
  • Understand how needs identification feeds the solution presentation.
  • Recognize closing concepts as the culmination of earlier stages, not a standalone trick.

The Commercial Block (Domains 7-12)

Intro to Commercial Sales, Commercial Intrusion, Commercial Fire, Commercial Access Control, Commercial Video, and Commercial Integrated Systems shift the focus to selling to business customers.

  • Expect to connect each system type to the customer problem it solves.
  • Be comfortable with commercial vocabulary across intrusion, fire, access, and video.
  • Understand how integrated systems combine these elements into one solution.

An Alternate Organization to Be Aware Of

ESA's current Security Sales Essentials online page publishes a different, eleven-topic list: Overview of the security sales cycle; Prospecting; Problem identification; Solution presentation; Closing (the transaction stage); Handling objections; Strategies for selling in the digital age; How to cross sell; Consultative selling; Customer advocacy; and Managing customer relationships. This organization is separate from the twelve catalog headings above. No universal transition between the two or combined exam blueprint was verified, and the paid course-manual contents were not retrieved. The sensible approach is to study the material in whichever structure your enrolled course presents, and treat overlap (sales cycle, prospecting, closing) as your highest-confidence ground.

A Domain-Ordered Prep Plan

Since the SSE course is fourteen hours and the exam is open book, a short, ordered plan works better than a sprawling one. This is the only generic-method section in this article, and it is tied directly to the content areas above.

Week 1

Sales-Process Foundation

  • Work through the Security Sales Cycle, Prospecting, and Approach material.
  • Tab or index the manual by stage so you can find any step quickly.
Week 2

Needs, Presentation, and Closing

  • Cover Identifying Needs, Presenting the Solution, and Closing.
  • Practice linking each stage to the one before it.
Week 3

Commercial Systems

  • Study Commercial Intrusion, Fire, Access Control, and Video, then Integrated Systems.
  • Build a one-line "customer problem solved" note for each system type.
Week 4

Timed Review

  • Run timed practice questions against your indexed manual.
  • Confirm your proctoring provider and technical setup in your learner account.

For a fuller approach, see the CSS Study Guide: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and keep the CSS Cheat Sheet handy for last-minute fact review. You can also build timed familiarity with the question style on the CSS practice test site.

How to Evaluate Any Pass-Rate Claim You See

Because no public pass rate was verified, you will inevitably encounter claims. Run each one through these filters:

  1. Which "CSS"? Several unrelated credentials share this acronym. A number that cites a different certifying body, fee, or exam length is not about Certified Security Salesperson.
  2. Which component? Is it the UESS assessment, CAT Level 1, SSE, or the whole pathway?
  3. Which attempt? First-attempt and eventual-pass figures are not interchangeable.
  4. What is the source? If the number cannot be traced to ESA or the National Training School, treat it as unverified.
  5. What is the date? Proctoring platforms and policies have shifted, so older figures may describe a different testing environment.
A useful reframe: Your personal odds depend far more on three things you control than on any aggregate statistic: how well you know your manual, whether you complete the exam inside the six-month window, and whether you treat the first attempt as the one that counts.

After the Pass: Certification Request and Renewal

Passing does not automatically issue the credential. Newly acquired certification carries no extra issuance fee, but you must request it using the New Certification Request Form. Once certified, renewal follows a two-year cycle: every twenty-four months you need twenty-four qualifying contact hours or ESA CEUs earned in that cycle, with reported activities, retained records, and payment. There is no carryover of excess credits.

The current member renewal product lists $70. Current nonmember and late-fee amounts were not verified; figures on the January 2018 form ($125 nonmember, $75 late) are historical. Backup documents need not accompany the initial renewal but must be retained for possible audit, though the FAQ's evidence-submission wording differs, so follow the current renewal form's instructions. If you lapse for under twenty-four months, you owe the cycle's twenty-four CEUs, the renewal fee, and any late fee. A lapse over twenty-four months requires retaking the primary course and exam, with the exact boundary unspecified.

If you are weighing whether all of this effort pays off, the CSS Salary Guide, Is the CSS Certification Worth It?, and CSS Jobs pages cover the career side. When you are ready to test yourself, head to the main practice test.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Certified Security Salesperson pass rate?

No public pass rate was verified for the CSS pathway. ESA does not appear to publish cohort statistics, so any specific percentage you encounter is unsourced and may belong to a different credential that shares the CSS acronym.

What score do I need to pass the proctored exam?

ESA publishes a general proctored passing score of 70, but the scale is not specified. Do not treat it as a verified percentage or convert it into a required number of correct answers. The "70% or greater" on the SSE page refers to a separate course-completion quiz.

How many times can I attempt the exam?

You are allowed no more than three attempts, and fundamental-course exams must be passed within six months of course completion. After a third failure or an expired exam window, you must retake the course. Re-examination costs $135.

Is the SSE exam open book?

Yes, the SSE proctored exam is multiple choice and open book using the course manual. The 2026 catalog lists a two-hour exam for virtual or live delivery. Confirm current resource and proctoring rules in your learner account, since platform policies have changed.

Is there one CSS exam that determines everything?

No. CSS is a course-and-assessment pathway: a prerequisite course (CAT Level 1 or UESS), then Security Sales Essentials, the required proctored exams, and the New Certification Request Form. It is not a separately verified single combined examination.

Ready to pass your CSS exam?

Put this into practice with free CSS questions across every exam domain.